Guitar Lessons Critic header
| | | | |
Textarea Top

JamPlay Review & Coupon Code

UPDATE: I found a JamPlay coupon code for 25% OFF! Enter 86C6CC to save $5 on your 1st month at JamPlay!

JamPlay coupon code JamPlay is a huge online community made for guitarists to hang out and learn how to become better guitar players.

Members get unlimited access to 1,000's of high-quality guitar lesson videos from professional guitarists, community support, chord and scale libraries, and live lessons, all for the cost of about one 1/2 hour lesson.

There are 46 awesome instructors at JamPlay, spanning genres from classical and country, to jazz and blues, to rock and heavy metal. Each teacher has been formally trained and has extensive experience with their specific style of guitar.

If you're interested in watching HD-quality video guitar lessons anytime you want from home, for about the price of a single 30-minute lesson from a private instructor, all with killer resources and support, JamPlay.com is my #1 choice:

Visit JamPlay!

Not sure if this is your best option? Watch my video JamPlay review (and see Pros & Cons) below to learn more...


Video Tour of JamPlay.com

Want a sneak peek inside the members' area, without having to pay?
Click the play button below to take a quick tour through my account to see if JamPlay is right for you:

The Camtasia Studio video content presented here requires a more recent version of the Adobe Flash Player. If you are using a browser with JavaScript disabled please enable it now. Otherwise, please update your version of the free Flash Player by downloading here. Or, if you'd prefer, you can watch the video on YouTube.


 

JamPlay Review

Sidebar Box Top

OVERALL RATING:
Rated 4.9/5 Stars

JamPlay screenshot

Lesson Quality: 5 Star Rating
Value for Price: 5 Star Rating
Support: 5 Star Rating
Teaching Style: 4.5 Star Rating
Lesson Variety: 5 Star Rating
Ease of Use: 4.5 Star Rating
Entertainment: 5 Star Rating
User Reviews: 5 Star Rating

Product Community: 1,000+ Videos
Price: $19.95/month
Delivery: Instant
Guarantee: 7-Day, 100%

Sidebar Button

Sidebar Box Bottom

JamPlay is my #1 Choice for Guitar Lessons
Reviewed by Kyle, JamPlay Member Since February 2009

JamPlay.com is an awesome community for aspiring guitarists to boost their skills from home. In fact, after trying & reviewing over 10 courses and communities, it is my #1 pick!

Alright, so here's what you get when you join JamPlay:

  • 46 professional instructors
  • 1,000+ HD-quality video guitar lessons
  • Tons of genres & styles covered (Country to Heavy Metal)
  • 10,000's of members to learn from and talk to online (20,000+ guitarists have used JamPlay!)
  • Well-organized, active forum
  • Live webcast lessons from the pros
  • Software: Guitar Tuner & Metronome
  • Built-in backing tracks for perfecting your soloing skills
  • Amazing Chord, Scale & Riff Libraries

While some people believe that private lessons are the best way to go, that can be insanely expensive! An average 30-minute lesson costs about $16 (and can go up to over $50 or more), meaning just 2 lessons/week will cost you $128/month, which is $1,536/year!

A monthly membership to JamPlay.com only costs $19.95, and you get access to 34 instructors instead of one. Plus, if you click the link and enter the coupon code below, you'll save 25% instantly...

JamPlay Coupon Code:

86C6CC

Click above and enter the code to save 25% ($4.99)!

Also, it's important to say that even if you don't think it's worth $14.95 to get unlimited access to over 1,000 HD-quality video guitar lessons for 30 days straight, you can get your money back if you just send them an email within the first 7 days.

So go ahead, check it out:

Visit Jam Play!
Product Box Bottom

JamPlay Pros

Here are some of my favorite things about JamPlay:

  • Incredible price! You'll save over $1,000/year compared to private lessons
  • 46 cool guitar instructors, with a wide range of genre expertise
  • Lots of guitarists (1,000's) to chat with and learn from on the forums
  • Amazing website! I love their site design, which makes it more fun to be a member
  • The libraries (chords, scales, riffs, solos & backing tracks) are amazing!
  • The Tuner & Metronome have come in handy quite a few times...
  • Structure: No random videos here! Each lesson is part of a series focusing on one topic/skill
  • Song Lessons: Jamplay has licenses to teach us how to play over 150 popular songs

JamPlay Cons

Though it's my favorite way to learn guitar, there are some things I do NOT like about JamPlay too:

  • It's $19.95/month (Though this is insanely cheap compared to lessons!)
  • You won't get as much 1-on-1 time as with a private teacher (Your questions will get answered on the forum, through direct messages or chats, or even on live video web chats with instructors, so no worries...)
  • Information overload: Jamplay has so much content, so many tools, and so many people to talk to, that it can be overwhelming, or even distracting. However, they do have everything organized really well.

In the end, JamPlay is a great way to improve your skills with guitar, and it's what I recommend as my #1 pick. I hope my review has helped, but I'm sure you'd like to hear what other Jam Play members have to say, too...


Screenshots of JamPlay.com

Click the images below to see exclusive screenshots of the JamPlay.com members area, lessons, games and more:

 

Not sure about JamPlay? Here's how it compares to the most popular courses:

Compare JamPlay to Top Guitar Lessons
JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn and Master Guitar Jamorama
Overall Rating 9.8/10 9.2/10 8.7/10 7.4/10
Lesson Quality 5 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars 3.5 Stars
Value for Price 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 3.5 Stars
Support 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars
Teaching Style 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Lesson Variety 5 Stars 5 Stars 3.5 Stars 3 Stars
Ease of Use 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Entertainment 5 Stars 4 Stars 3.5 Stars 4.5 Stars
Learn More Visit JamPlay Read Review Read Review Read Review
Product Online Community & 1,000+ Videos Online Community & Videos DVD's, Book, CD's & Forum PDF's, Videos & Software
Delivery Instant (Online) Instant (Online) 3-14 Days Instant (Online)
Guarantee 7-Day, 100% Money-Back 60-Day 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back
Instructors 46 45 1 1
Beginner Check Check Check Check
Intermediate Check Check Check Check
Advanced Check X Check X
Song Lessons Check Check X X
Lowest Price $19.95/month* $14.95/month $249 $149 $49.95
Check it out: Visit JamPlay Visit Guitar Tricks Visit Learn and Master Guitar Visit Jamorama
Review Table Bottom
User generated reviews
JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn & Master Guitar Jamorama
Lesson Quality 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Value For Price 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars3 Stars
Support 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars2.5 Stars
Teaching Style 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars3 Stars
Lesson Variety 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Ease Of Use 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3.5 Stars
Entertainment 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3 Stars
No Of Ratings :8 Click here to give your rating
Review Table Bottom

*UPDATE: Get $4.99 off of your first month at JamPlay.com:

25% Off JamPlay Coupon Code:

86C6CC

Click the link above and enter '86C6CC' to save 25% ($4.99) on your first month at JamPlay!

JamPlay Reviews
Summary: 4.97 Star Rating from 18 Members

5 stars "Jamplay is a great resource for any level of guitar player"
JamPlay Review By "Brandon" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since December 2009.

"I have been playing guitar for a few years now and, like many of us, came up against a brick wall. I didn’t feel I was progressing and it was getting frustrating. I have taken private lessons before and I wasn’t willing to put out $45-60 for a half hour and really not get anything done. I have even taken classes at the community college, but they are really for new beginners. I have also bought DVD’s, lesson books, and surfed the web.

Unfortunately, I was still stuck. That is when I thought I would give the online courses a try. I chose JamPlay.com for no other reason than it looked pretty cool. It worked great. In fact, I am playing better now than I have every played before.

Jamplay.com is great. The combination of online video lessons and the live chat is well worth the money. The biggest plus with the online lessons is the variety and the ability to search. I consider myself an intermediate fingerstyle player and I found 3 different instructors providing of 46 individual fingerstyle lessons. Each lesson is between 15 and 45 minutes long and covers a huge variety of topics. That’s a ton of lessons and it really helped me where I needed it.

But it really didn’t give me the exact help I needed. In fact, that is a problem with any prerecorded video lesson, they are generic. So, I decided to try the online live chat. I logged in and explained to the instructor what I was having problems with and zap, he knew exactly what I was doing wrong. In fact, sever other people in the chat room had the same problem and gave me their take on how to fix it. Within a few minutes I had a plan on where to go and it really worked.

Jamplay is a great resource for any level of guitar player and I highly recommend it. It has online video lessons, live chart with a highly skilled instructor, forums where people actually want to help each other, and they are consistently putting out new material so it does not stagnate. I have been with them for a couple of months now and I don’t ever seeing myself going anywhere else."


5 stars "It's like they are actually there teaching you"
JamPlay Review By "Jesse" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since 2008.

"Hello there, My name is Jesse. I've been a member of Jamplay.com since 2008. Jesse, member of JamPlay.com

I got my first guitar for christmas of 2006. It was a beautiful Infinity Acoustic. And ever since then I've been playing on the daily. I recall a friend teaching me my first chord, an F major chord. After that I was hooked, and immediately asked my dad for private lessons and he agreed and I started private lessons at a local music school. My teacher's name was Jim and he helped me build my foundations on the guitar, and we are now good friends. But it wasn't but a year later when my dad told me he couldn't afford the private lessons anymore and I had to say my goodbye. I still see him occasionally when I come up to the music store he also works at when I need my baby repaired and what not. But I NEEDED a way to continue my studies with the guitar and without these lessons I wasn't sure what to do. I had boughten some books but it wasn't the same as actually being taught by a real person. So I started to browse the web for online guitar lessons .

Sure they're some decent free websites out there that you can use, but Jamplay.com was something better, way better. There is so much knowledge and potential on Jamplay that when I log on to the site I feel like I could learn absolutely anything I want to about guitar and music today. I could dive into so many pools of knowledge. So after taking some of the free lessons I decided to give it a chance and bought a month subscription for $19.95. I probably spend more time on Jamplay then I do anywhere else on the web. It's flat out fun! There are so many amazing musicians and personalities on the site. The videos are such good quality its amazing, and there are so many tools to behold on the site. One thing I love so much about the site is the steaming live sessions, where basically the teachers have schedules of getting on webcam and talking to members, answering questions, demonstrating things and just having a good time talking to the members. It's so awesome it's just something you would have to see for yourself.

So basically there are 3 phases to Jamplay. Firstly, the Beginners Phase. Even though I feel like I've risen from Beginner to Intermediate I still spend a lot of time in this phase because of all the different teachers in that phase. You can go through each beginning lesson series with each teacher and every time learn things you didn't from other teachers. Not to mention you get to build a connection with these great musicians, it's like they are actually there teaching you. You can comment and they will actually respond to you. Secondly comes Phase 2 or Genre Teachings. And again you have so many great instructors teaching the genres they know best, its amazing. e.i. Blues, Classic Rock, Folk, Jazz, Metal, Finger-style, Classical, Country, Celtic, and even Hawaiian Slack Key. Phase 3 is a great one, its all about learning songs. The teachers are constantly adding to this phase with more and more great songs you can learn in all sorts of genres. They literally take you step by step through the song and often give you a chance to play along with them to make sure you master it.

So in essence, I've fallen in love with the site. Without it i'd feel deprived of all this valuable knowledge I now have at my fingertips. My favorite teacher on the site is Mark Lincoln, he is a master of the acoustic guitar, a great songwriter, and a hilarious personality so you surely have to check him out if you decide to give Jamplay a chance . Thanks for giving my review a look and I hope it helps in your decision of choosing the right online music lesson site.

Stay cool my cats ;]“


5 stars "best guitar learning experience on the web"
JamPlay Review By "Simon" and his daughter - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I signed up for Jamplay.com when my daughter decided she wanted to learn guitar. I figured I should try and join her. We moved to Portugal the year before and our language skills weren't great, we also had trouble finding local instructors to teach us (nothing that didn't involve a 100km round trip!) so online seemed like the best option. A quick google search showed an almost overwhelming amount of online guitar tuition, but nothing with any real structure or support.

Jamplay stood out from the crowd immediately due to the structure of the lessons, the progression it is possible to make from beginner to more advanced and the wide range of instructors and styles to choose from.

My daughter now gets lessons at school, I've stuck with Jamplay, mainly due to the superb content and structure, but also because I can dip in and out of lessons whenever time allows, without the commitment of having to schedule a weekly lesson with an instructor.

I’ve found that not only are the lessons comprehensive, well structured, clear and entertaining, but the other resources on the site are also excellent. The growing selection of song lessons, the supplementary content available and the overall design of the site all create an really excellent learning experience.

There is also the growing jamplay community to interact with and even live lessons via webcam. Add to the mix Q&A sessions and new lessons added regularly and it’s easy to understand why I consider this the best guitar learning experience on the web . I’m not the best student in the world, but I’ve found it easy to keep interested and to continue learning at my own pace, which is what I think it is all about.

I have enjoyed the structure of the jamplay lessons and the way it is possible to dive in and out of different lessons with different instructors. I can't recommend it highly enough!“


5 stars "You’ll never feel alone on your journey to guitar euphoria"
JamPlay Review By "Roy" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

Roy, member of JamPlay.com "The need to learn guitar is often provoked by the craving to express oneself musically. Almost everyone that plays guitar aspires to become like their favorite guitarist. But to even come close to the likes of David Gilmour, Jimi Hendrix and Joe Satriani, one must learn in a patient and friendly environment. It takes practice and dedication to be able to play that melody that is stuck in our heads.

I believe that JamPlay is the best guitar teaching website on the net.

This is how the majority of beginner guitarists start off: they buy their guitar, tuner, picks and tablature books. They start off with beginner lessons but often find themselves stump after months of practice and are then discouraged to continue on.

Well after experiencing this kind of plateaus for myself, I decided to join JamPlay. I had already tried the free seven day membership and was instantly drawn into the site. Everything about it was user friendly, I could find that piece of information that would teach me that spicy riff, I could brush up on my scales and improvise along my favorite songs, and I could even completely learn a new musical piece!

The site on its own is amazing, it’s designed to keep the beginner and experienced guitarist in mind, but what would it be without its amazing guitar instructors? Sure you could watch a whole lot of online videos and learn from that, but JamPlay has a very interesting work ethic. After being a member for two months now, I realized that you always need interaction and a sort of mentorship to help you inch to the next level of guitar playing. This means that, you always need to have a role model from who you who leech and aspire to become like. This is exactly what JamPlay displays and it’s possible thanks to the amazing live webcam sessions it offers.

You’ll never feel alone on your journey to guitar euphoria.

We’ve explored the overall impression that JamPlay has marked me with, but it is for you to try it out and to keep in mind what I have transmitted. On a final note, JamPlay is hands down the best site to learn how to play the six-stringed beauty from. You won’t be sorry when you’ve signed up...“


5 stars "I've learned an amazing amount and made friends"
JamPlay Review By "Sylvia" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since February 2008.

"My experience with guitar prior to Jamplay was basically self-instruction with song chord books, a small amount of musical knowledge, and a set of DVDs that frankly didn’t help much. I knew the basic chords and I knew how to count a time signature. Frankly I was failing miserably despite the time I was putting into guitar practice. I was certain I was doomed to be a basic open chord strummer with little skill. At age 20 out of utter frustration, I quit. I returned to guitar after some 22 years when my husband bought me a guitar for my Valentine’s present. Some of the chords came back right away. However, barre chords, the 12 bar blues, and scales eluded me.

I’ve been at Jamplay since February 2008. I came to Jamplay out of frustration with my local live instructor. I needed someone who would work with my schedule. That just was not going to happen with my local instructor. And it was clear to me that I was paying $60 an hour to be inconvenienced and with 3 lessons a week I was paying $720 a month! Well, it was a NO BRAINER to pay $139.99 a year for Jamplay that would allow me to take lessons as my schedule allowed. And I can rewind my instructor as often as I would like!

I’ve learned an amazing amount and have made some fast friends. I have learned more about chords and the theory behind how they are formed. I have finally learned to play the 12 bar blues with the help of some amazing blues teachers. Currently I am working on finger style and Celtic techniques. I plan to learn more about scales and lead phrasing later this year.

I love how Jamplay has grown in the past two years. They are constantly adding lessons every week to keep the content fresh. Since I’ve been there they have gone from about 1200 minutes of lessons to well over 30,000 minutes of video lessons. Not only that, they have provided the member with tools to supplement the video content. Among these tools my favorites are:

  • Chord Library: This tool is great because it lists every chord you could possibly come across.
  • Lick Library: Has helped me to get better at phrasing and lead.
  • Theory Games: Tough games that reinforce musical notation knowledge and are not for the faint of heart.
  • Live Instructor Sessions in JamChat: Nothing better than getting to know your instructor and being able to ask questions and get a live explanation.
  • A Discussion Forum: Jamplay has a great group of members with ages from 9 to 80 years. If you are struggling, need encouragement or just need an opinion on your latest gear acquisition. Members , instructors and staff are always willing to help on the forum.
  • Downloadable backing tracks: I practice to these tracks and because they are downloadable I can load them to my portable music player and take them with me.
  • Tabs for all video lessons: What can you say about tabs except they are a visual reference for the video lessons? By being printable the tabs can be practiced away from the computer. I have built a paper library of tabs that is mine to keep.

If someone were to ask me about the cons of being a Jamplay member I would promptly say. “Absolutely nothing! I plan on being a member for a good long time.“


4 stars "...it is as flexible as you want it to be."
JamPlay Review By "Falco" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I've been a jamplay member for 5 months now and in that time i've found a lot of good things about jamplay.

The best thing about jamplay is of course the fact that it is as flexible as you want it to be. Do you want a lesson about the dorian scale at 4 am? No problem! Especially for me this has been great, since i live in a different timezone (europe).

For every guitar player they have at least one interesting series on their favorite genre. The lessons are very easy to understand and every played note is captured by several camera's so you won't miss one finger motion. And if you've missed something the teacher said, no problem! Because the lessons are video's you can rewind and make them say that same sentence over and over again as many times as you'd like. Also this is very easy, because you can pause the lesson at any time to work on a hard piece and then resume the lesson.

Aside from jamplay i follow lessons with a live teacher as well and the first thing that's completely different with jamplay is that you make your own schedule. With a live teacher you only have a lesson once per week and sometimes I can play a song i have to practice in that week after two days. That seems like a huge waste of time. With jamplay you can choose by yourself when you want to move on. This brings up a different point of jamplay, you're very dependent on your own discipline. Everybody who has ever played a guitar knows how tempting it is to skip something you don't like to learn a song. When you have a live teacher that teacher can show you little mistakes in your playing that you wouldn't notice by yourself, plus a live teacher can help you bring up the discipline to stick with a subject until you completely control it and until you are ready to move on. If you can control your urges by yourself than jamplay is really something for you, but if you have trouble ! controlling these urges than you might consider having live lessons as well/instead.

But jamplay offers a lot more than just video lessons. For example the live Q&A sessions are a huge success. The topics of these sessions are different per teacher, but they'll always have time to elaborate a thing in a lesson that you just couldn't completely contain. In these sessions you can do almost whatever you want to, you can sing songs together, you can talk about life, you can write songs together, the sky's the limit.

Also jamplay offers a lot of other helpful tools to help you establish your playing. These include a metronome, a scale library (where you can check every scale), a backing track player (to help you to improvise) and even a tuner.

A final thing that's great is the fact that jamplay has its own community. You can have your own friends, including the teachers, who are great company. You won't feel so alone when you find out you're not the only one stuck on that one riff and maybe some more experienced members can give you some additional advice on top of the teachers' lessons. And if you don't feel like playing guitar one day you can always just relax in jamplay's own arcade...

In conclusion i'd say that jamplay is a must for every ambitious guitar player. The teaching system works great if you can show restraint when needed. The whole site is just one big guitar paradise.“


5 stars "...get timely responses to your questions."
JamPlay Review By "Steve" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I'm almost 40, and have wanted to play guitar for as long as I can remember. I finally took the plunge and bought a used guitar ('91 Ibanez EX120) in the fall of '09.

Because I travel quite a bit for work I couldn't commit to the standard scheduled lessons so I tried to pick up some "free" learning from the web, (viewing YouTube, tab-sites, etc.). I learned some small riffs, but I couldn't put together enough to really learn how to play, and I bet picking up some bad habits! I decided that web-based learning gave me the flexibility I need, and after reviewing several sites, I settled on JamPlay.com.

I liked the fact they have several teachers each with their own learning steps so you can find a teacher that works for your style. I feel I'll be able to make great gains, as they include exercises to help train you hands to learning string positions (basics most sites ignore). The comments section for each lesson also seems to be active, so you can get timely responses to your questions.

I may not be touring next year, but I bet I'll be well on my way learning at my own pace, and learning whenever I have the time to sit down with my guitar (in the afternoon or the middle of the night)...“


5 stars "I could literally spend years on all these lessons."
JamPlay Review By "Joshua" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I have been teaching myself guitar for the last three years. I used to take lessons when I first stared but I wasn’t really into the music my teacher was and I felt like I was learning to slowly so I decided to teach myself. Three years later here I am teaching myself. But there is only so much that you can learn by yourself, so I decided that I wanted to get some guitar lessons to learn advanced techniques and other things that I haven't been teaching myself. However because of the job I have it leaves me in a position where it is almost impossible to get a teacher with the available time I have.

So I did some searching not really anything that I could find that had what I wanted. So one day I went to a concert and they were handing out coupons for one free month membership to JamPlay. So the next day I signed up. And to my surprise they had everything that I wanted to learn on their site.

There is a beginners section (Phase 1) with nine teachers to choose from. When your done with your lessons you got a progress bar that you use to track what you have done so there's no wondering "Where was I??". All the teachers have years of experience and all of the lessons are pretty long. I have done some that were like thirty minutes and the shortest one I have done one that was six minutes.

Then after you got basics of guitar down there's phase 2 where they teach you by the type of genre you want to learn. They got all type's of musical styles to learn from; Classic Rock, Blues, Fingerstyle, Metal, Hawaiian (slack key), Bluegrass, Rock, Celtic, Classical, Country, And Jazz. Something to fit everyone's needs. And what even cooler than that is they have artists that you can learn from. Like Erik Mongrain, Emil Werstler of Daath, Kris Norris of The Kris Norris Projekt and formerly of Darkest Hour, Tosin Abasi of Animals as Leaders, and Randall Williams. This site has Skill! building lessons such as; Speed and Technique, Tips and Tricks, Guitar Performance, Reading Music and Rhythm, Singing and Guitar, Lead Guitar, and Song Writing.

Phase 3 is learning songs from all kinds of music and band that you know. There are also all kinds of tools on the site like a metronome, a tuner, chord library, scale library, and more. It is easy to keep track with what you have been learning because there is a progress report section where you see what you have done. And there is a forum where you can discuss anything with other players and the instructors. And there is also live session where one of the instructors go live and answer you questions. At almost any hour of the day you can get on and there is a live session running.

I could literally spend years on all these lessons. I almost want to quit my job and only play guitar. I love everything about this site from the set up to lessons. It's like having a guitar teacher in your house available 24 - 7. I would recommend this to any guitar player in any skill range because they could find something useful on this site. I have learned so much from this site and have told ! my friends about this site.

The cons.. Not very many the price is really reasonably compared to the price of private lessons and buying a bunch of DVD’s. I guess on of the cons is that you have a lot of information especially for a beginner because there is 9 different lesson set to choose from. It can be confusing on exactly where to start, but since I have already been playing for awhile I started in the advanced section. This really would have been helpful when I was starting out 3 years ago.“


5 stars "...play a lesson over and over again until you get it"
JamPlay Review By "Barb" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

Barb, member of JamPlay.com "I taught myself how to play a guitar 35 years ago. I could not afford lessons and back then the only information available was books (which I still have)! I taught myself chords and played mostly by ear. 15 years ago for personal reasons within my family I stopped playing.

A couple months ago I decided to play again and never stop. I got online to see what was out there. I was so excited to find Jamplay. I tried another website first and it is not near as nice as JamPlay.

I started by un-teaching myself the bad habits I had taught myself by taking the beginner lessons. I learned so much just within a few days! I use my pinky now in a 4th position. I am learning so much more than I could ever imagine learning.

I work at home and am able to break away a few hours a day for playing and if these instructors could only see me now from how I was when I started. HUGE difference and I can see I have a long long way to ! go. I also love the live sessions, all the instructors are knowlegable and friendly! I started with the beginner lessons with Steve, finished them and went on to studying the blues with Hawkeye Herman. I now know my C major scale and the blues scales. Currently I am learning how to identify the key's. After this I am going to hopefully learn some songs and utilize all the fundamentals I have learned.

I plan on staying with JamPlay until every one of my progress bars are lit up green! I almost forgot to mention that! What a neat way they have to keep track of your personal progress. You cannot keep rewinding a real teacher, they would run out of time.

With JamPlay you can play a lesson over and over again until you get it, and if you still don't get it, you can ask!“


5 stars "I don’t ever seeing myself going anywhere else."
JamPlay Review By "William" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since January 2009.

"I have been playing guitar for a few years now and, like many of us, came up against a brick wall. I didn’t feel I was progressing and it was getting frustrating. I have taken private lessons before and I wasn’t willing to put out $45-60 for a half hour and really not get anything done. I have even taken classes at the community college, but they are really for new beginners. I have also bought DVD’s, lesson books, and surfed the web.

Unfortunately, I was still stuck. That is when I thought I would give the online courses a try. I chose JamPlay.com for no other reason than it looked pretty cool. It worked great. In fact, I am playing better now than I have every played before.

Jamplay.com is great. The combination of online video lessons and the live chat is well worth the money. The biggest plus with the online lessons is the variety and the ability to search. I consider myself an intermediate fingerstyle player and I found 3 different instructors providing of 46 individual fingerstyle lessons. Each lesson is between 15 and 45 minutes long and covers a huge variety of topics. That’s a ton of lessons and it really helped me where I needed it.

But it really didn’t give me the exact help I needed. In fact, that is a problem with any prerecorded video lesson, they are generic. So, I decided to try the online live chat. I logged in and explained to the instructor what I was having problems with and zap, he knew exactly what I was doing wrong. In fact, several other people in the chat room had the same problem and gave me their take on how to fix it. Within a few minutes I had a plan on where to go and it really worked.

Jamplay is a great resource for any level of guitar player and I highly recommend it. It has online video lessons, live chat with a highly skilled instructor, forums where people actually want to help each other, and they are consistently putting out new material so it does not stagnate. I have been with them for a couple of months now and I don’t ever seeing myself going anywhere else."


4.5 stars "I'm definitely willing to pay the 20 bucks a month for this service."
JamPlay Review By "Marc" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member from Germany.

"Sorry for my english – I'm not a native english speaker.

First of all, I am playing guitar since almost 2.5 to 3 years now. I've started buying a guitar when I was 17 (almost sponsored by grand parents) and tried to learn playing self-taught. I've tried some afternoon courses in school but didn't like them so I've end up learning alone.

I've never wanted a band but an instrument for some “me”-time. That goes on a while, trying to find better YouTube videos and better (free!) help in the internet. Unfortunately, learning stagnated after some months, because the amount of good free lessons is extremely rare.

Since a real teacher is too expensive for me, I decided to give streaming websites a try. My first choice was Guitar Tricks (there are also Guitar Tricks reviews on this website), because it is cheaper than JamPlay. I tried it like a month, honestly it's good, but it did not really satisfied me for the price I am paying. After all, the beginner lessons were good, the professional lessons were kinda good (I guess, could not play them) – but two points disliked: the song lessons are absolutely no name (for me), and more important: lessons for intermediate players are not really good, or: the jump between beginner lessons and professional ones was too big (the one I've tested at least).

I decided to give Jamplay a try - and after like a month I can say: I'm definitely willing to pay the 20 bucks a month for this service. In numbers, the amount of videos is a little bit lower than Guitar Tricks (I guess), but the quality of them is a lot higher. There are a lot of teachers, but most of them are doing their own courses where only they teach – no teacher-hopping from video to video. The teachers are capable and good – each one is assigned to a genre or two. Eg. if you like Metal and go through the Metal Lessons and Song Lessons, you will most probably only see two teachers you'll need to familiarize to (same goes for other genres).

My highlight feature is webcam lessons: All the day, there are different teachers doing webcam lessons directly on the web page. You can join a chat to talk with them while they are doing their stuff. The chat can also be used to chat with other guitar players at the same level than you.

Since Jamplay.com is an American website, it's place during American-timezone day time. But I'm from Germany (GMT+1) and can't complain - there are enough webcam sessions during my evening time.

There are different phases of playing guitar. Jamplay divided it into 3 Phrases each guitar player should go through. The first one is for beginners and should bring him the guitar nearer. Also, it starts teaching some music theory which might be useful for later lessons.

Second Phase is divided into music genres. Here, you can start learning different techniques, tricks and also music theory, directly for your dream genre – so you don't have to do general stuff for each genre. If you only want to play Jazz, you'll only do the Jazz courses which go through all techniques and stuff you specifically need to play Jazz-style music.

The Song Section on Jamplay, or Phase 3 how it's called there, is really full of popular songs. From Guns and Roses over System of a Down to ZZ Top, everything is available. The songs are divided in different parts (chorus, verse, solo, etc) as well as a demo video of the full song. You can view TABs of the songs directly under the video.

You can use a feature from the web page called “Progress report” where you can save your current progress on different lessons on a bar from 0 to 100. So you can't forget about a lesson you've done a while ago without completing it. Aside from that, there are different social networking features (friends lists, forum, etc), which I did not really use, so I can't score them.

After all my chorus of praise, here should be something bad for contra. But from my point of view, the only contra is the price. $20 per month is much higher than other web pages. Hopefully it gets some more lessons over time, some genre courses are a little bit short. I'd give Jamplay 4.5/5 (5 for content + webcam sessions minus 0.5 because of the price). For me, the first month in Jamplay helped me a lot to overcome my stagnancy on guitar learning."


5 stars "the main problem of online video lessons...is solved"
JamPlay Review By "Johannes" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"Guten Tag ;)

First of all, my name is Johannes and I'm from Germany. Nothing bad about that, but the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of the value of the guitar instruction website www.jamplay.com for me is "Can I benefit from it as much as native speakers?". My answer: "I indeed think so."

So why is that? Even though I find myself not the best english speaker and have been a serious beginner at playing the guitar over a year ago, I understand not only most of the vocabulary used by the instructors or on the site, but also the instructors explain the world of guitars in a very wide range of varieties. So it's almost impossible not to get the point. ;)

Having said this, there are other ways in which you can benefit from the large number of instructors. Not only is the amount of knowledge on the site increasing with the number of instructors, but you will allways find a guy that offers you the way of learning the guitar that you need. May it be the technique used, the focus on theory, practice or fun, or whatever.

So the main problem of online video lessons, that you can't interact with the instructors, is solved by the numerous different ways of teaching as well as the really good working textual communication between instructors and members or between members themselves on the site.

What strikes me the most about jamplay.com is the increasing standard of the professionalism of the site. There are more and more video lessons and instructors that are pretty well known, like Kaki King, Emil Werstler, Kris Norris and many more keep coming. Truly amazing!

And looking at the development of the site over time, there's still a lot to come.

Plus there's allways help if you need some and everyone is really polite so you can get the feel of being part of a big guitar-family. As you might have recognized, I'm a pretty big fan of the site, that being said without even fully using all the tools like the forum, backing tracks, and lots of articles about very interesting topics. My skills have increased in a real satisfying way and there is nothing in sight that makes me believe it will stop soon.

The only negative things I might mention are that there are some series of videos, focussing on special topics, that haven't gotten very far and will probably stay the way they are. And that the phase 3 section containing videos which teach full length songs has gotten pretty small since many of them had to be removed due to copyright issues.

I'd like to end with a general thought concerning the possibilities and problems of online video lessons, because in my opinion the problem concerning your own motivation, rising from the fact that there is no one that might control your improvement, contrasts the possibility of making use of the content of the site in a way, you probably could never afford, if learning from an instructor face to face.

So if you think you would make constant use of the sites content, I think you should give it a try. And even though I haven't tried other sites, I can't believe there's a better one to do that than jamplay.com.

Auf Wiedersehen,
Johannes Tönnies"


5 stars "...definitely beats out it's competitors."
JamPlay Review By "Alex" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I started playing the guitar around three years ago. When I first started, I wanted to learn it all, I wanted to know everything. I had tried multiple guitar lesson sites, such as Guitar Tricks, but none of them worked for me.

Well, I finally found JamPlay, and it turned out to be the most in depth lessons site that I have probably ever seen. They split their lessons into three phases, Phase 1 is for beginners, phase 2 is genre teaching, and phase 3 is for learning songs. I personally like phase 2 the best. I like this because they have tons of lessons for just about any genre that you want to learn to play.

They even have a comment section and a supplemental content section for each lesson! If you enjoy more hands-on learning, then you can check out their webcam lessons. There are live Q&A sessions from different teachers every day!

The forum is also a very helpful tool on JamPlay. You can talk with other users of JamPlay, and even staff and teachers!

One really cool thing that I like on Jamplay is the entertainment section. Here you will find clips from concerts, there are licks and riffs, and they also have interviews.

Now, every website comes with it's fair share of cons, and this is no different. It is kind of hard to use the progress report. You have to put in what percent of the lesson that you have watched by yourself, it doesn't do it for you. Also, they don't have a massive selection of songs in their phase 3 section, but they make up for it with their phase 1 and 2 lessons.

The biggest con for me is probably the subscription price. It is 19.95 monthly, 49.95 quarterly, and 139.95 yearly. This is a lot of money to shell out on lessons, but I assure you it is worth it. With all of the bonus features this website has, it definitely beats out it's competitors."


5 stars "I was completely blown away by Jamplay"
JamPlay Review By "Jill" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"I have been playing music since I was a young child. I began with piano lessons, then played flute in the school band program and finally found my passion with guitar. I became serious about guitar 11 years ago and taught myself until three years ago. At that time I felt I had become stuck in my progress and began taking private lessons.

While searching various guitar related sites on the internet I realized how many online teaching resources were available but there seemed to be quite a difference in the quality of the sites. I signed up for Guitar Tricks thinking a website such as that would just enhance and reinforce the progress I was already making with private lessons and lots of practice. I was reasonably happy with my choice until I discovered Jamplay.

Funny enough, I actually found out about Jamplay through this site, and after reading the reviews decided I needed to try it out. I was completely blown away by Jamplay from the first visit to the site. The layout of the site is appealing and easy to navigate. The lessons cover an extremely wide variety of playing styles, genres and skill levels. More advanced players need not worry that there won't be enough to keep them challenged because there is plenty there for the absolute beginner all the way through to very advanced.

The Jamplay staff is incredible. The site is never stagnant. Improvements and new lessons, articles, features, teaching tools, etc. are constantly being added. The administrators are active on the site and will respond to questions, weigh-in on discussions and ask for member input on new ideas or ways to continue to advance the site. The video quality is amazing and consistent. Lessons also include supplemental content such as tab, chord charts, scales, and written explanations that complement the lesson and can be printed for future reference.

I can't say enough good things about the instructors on Jamplay. They are all top-notch players and teachers. One of the features Jamplay offers that I haven't seen from any other guitar site is the live question and answer sessions. You actually have access to an instructor at scheduled times to answer questions and demonstrate playing techniques. Once again you have instructors on the live Q&As that represent most genres and playing styles. The only drawback with the live Q&As in my opinion is that you get such a variety of skill levels and personalities in a chat room sometimes it can be difficult to keep on a structured learning path for the entire session. But, if you are willing to be patient and open-minded there is a lot to be gained from these sessions.

Jamplay offers a complete lesson series for beginners to help them get started but moves far beyond the beginner level with genre-based, skill building and artist series lesson sets. In addition there are lessons that teach specific songs. Teaching tools include chord, scale, lick & riff libraries, online metronome an! d tuner, backing tracks and games to help with music notation, ear training and fretboard knowledge.

The site also has guitar reviews and helpful articles. A review of Jamplay wouldn't be complete without talking about the online community. You can make a profile and communicate with other members through messaging, forums, chat rooms, etc. The instructors are friendly, accessible and active in the community as well. You can become involved in this feature of the website to the extent you choose.

I have met some really wonderful people through the site and also learned a lot from other members. There are members from all over the world. Before I joined Jamplay I had been frustrated trying to find other adults to "jam" with. Through the community portion of the site I was finally able to find someone that lives close and we now get together and play on a regular basis.

I will conclude this review by saying that I still can't believe what a value Jamplay is. The year membership is the best value but even the monthly membership fee is incredibly low considering the price of private lessons and taking into account all that Jamplay offers. Jamplay is so comprehensive it could effectively be used as your only guitar teaching method or it can be used in conjunction with other teaching methods you may opt to use. Lessons are done at your own pace and in the comfort of your home. Do yourself a favor and at least check it out for a month.

I wish I would have had Jamplay when I first picked up the guitar."


5 stars "...stumbled upon JamPlay. I joined. Love it."
JamPlay Review By "Gerard" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"Hi, I'm 59 years old and started playin the guitar when I was fourteen. I think my first guitar was a used Montgomery Ward electric. I never had any formal training but me and three buddys formed a group and kind of self taught each other. We learned to play Beatles, Stones, KINKS, Mitch Ryder and a lot of groups like that in the sixties.

We sounded pretty good and played several gigs. I never really learned to play like I wanted to though. Later I joined a country band and played a few local bars. I played some bass with that band. One of the guys in that band was Paul Todd. He was a shell shocked WW11 vet, but he was also an old Nashville picker. He played with several big names and had pictures of himself with Hank Williams Sr. and others. This old guy could really play and he showed me some neat things to do with the guitar.

Not long after that I went to the Army, came home and got married. My guitars went in the closet and collected dust. I finally sold everything because I was a young strugglin father but I never lost my desire to play Guitar and learn more about it.

Once in a great while I would mention to my wife that I would sure like to get another guitar some day, but with three kids, Little League, dance lessons that dream became an afterthought. Now my kids are grown and on there own.

I came home from work one night and there on my couch was a new guitar. My wife had surprised me with the most special gift I had ever received. Not an expensive guitar or anything special but it was mine. She knew nothing about guitars but she had seen seen it on tv and ordered it for me. I didn't care what brand it was because I could finally play again.

It came with some instructional dvd's but they weren't doing much for me, so I started searching the internet to see what I could find about guitar lessons and stumbled upon Jamplay. I joined. Love it.

They are finally teaching me how to play the way I always wanted to. The instructors are great and you learn at your own pace. They will answer questions and you learn any genre you want to try.

I highly recommend it to anyone who plays guitar, novice or experienced player. There is something for everyone. I plan to stay with Jamplay and become the guitarist I always wanted to be."


5 stars "Awesome site, Awesome Community, Awesome instructors..."
JamPlay ReviewBy "Cody" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since August 2009.

"We'll first off what can I say about Jamplay that already hasn't been said. I've been a member of the site for 7 or so months now and I do not regret spending the mere 20 bucks a month. I've learned so much in my year of playing its really astounded my friends and family; and 95% is thanks to this site (and the instructor Kris).

I've tried a few of the "learn guitar quick" sites I've watched all the countless youtube videos; but nothing comes close to the content on jamplay. There are HOURS upon HOURS of content on the site it may be pretty overwhelming at first; but most is partitioned into phases.

The site itself has a very professional and stylized feel. This site isn't one of those big guitar instruction companies throwing out worthless lessons trying to make a quick buck. All the lessons are thoroughly thought out and well executed for people to learn the fullest from them.

Well to kick if off the site starts with; Phase 1 being the basics and probably the first place you should go whether you've been playing for 2 months or 2 years, etc. You'll learn your basic scale patterns, chords, arpeggios and a little theory in phase 1. On top of that there are a wide variety of instructors alone in phase 1, there is even a lesson set specialized in teaching younger kids.

Phase 2 is all about genre specific techniques. Here you'll meet Kris, Emil, and many other great instructors.

Phase 3 is all about learning songs. Not much I can say about it but they are constantly trying to add more songs and beef that section up.

To sum it all up the site is an awesome learning tool and not to be looked over by anyone interested in building their chops or just progressing on their instrument.

Also there is a GREAT community on the site, along with the 400+ hours of instructional videos you can pull up ANY time you want there are live webcam lessons more than 12 hours a day. You can join and ask any questions you might have or just ask the instructors on their preferences of gear, etc. BUT no song requesting, the instructors are there to teach not be a human jukebox ;).

My summary is it is an Awesome site, Awesome Community, Awesome instructors, and its owned and operated by some pretty awesome and chill dudes.

-Cody"


5 stars "My guitar playing has improved tremendously"
JamPlay Review By "Carol" - Intermediate Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member since February 2009.

"I've been a member of Jamplay.com for 13 months, and it's been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I took guitar lessons for about a year, and although I loved my instructor, I just wasn't retaining information.

I discovered Jamplay.com and immediately signed up for a year. I just love the fact that I can log on at any time and get a quality lesson. In fact, I have logged on in the wee hours of the morning on occasions when insomnia sets in. Every single instructor has been wonderful. I learn so much from all different genres. I had no clue I wanted to learn how to finger pick until I watched the lessons on finger picking. My guitar playing has improved tremendously since I joined Jamplay.com.

I have recommended the site to numerous friends. In fact, I have a friend who has a nine year old daughter with health problems. She is unable to interact with other children in activities, so she decided she wanted to learn how to play guitar. I told her parents about Jamplay.com, and she is loving it. On days when she is bedridden, she turns on the computer, logs onto Jamplay.com and practices all day long. The instructors lessons are very kid friendly, and this child's parents have no fear of their daughter being on a website without their constant supervision.

My only complaint about Jamplay is there is too much information. I can't keep up with all the lessons that are constantly being posted. And I want to; I don't want to miss a single lesson, or equipment review, or live chat.

I cannot recommend Jamplay enough to anyone who wants to learn how to play guitar. You can go as fast as you want or as slow as you want. It's entirely up to you. If you run into trouble there is always a lesson you can find to help you. If there is a question you want answered, you can log onto to any live chat, or post your question on the forum. The other members are very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Join Jamplay, you WILL NOT be disappointed!"


5 stars "I have never been part of a tighter online community."
JamPlay Review By "Ty" - Beginner Guitarist. Verified JamPlay member.

"After attempting to dabble on an acoustic on my own for years, I decided to give JamPlay.com a try. Let me tell you after doing my research, these guys really know what they are doing. Right from the start i noticed how easy it was to navigate the site. This was a huge selling point for me. I have a very short fuse when it comes to trying to navigate the internet.

The coolest aspect the i did not see the other websites offer was the Live Q&A sessions. JamPlay has something like 8-10 hours of live instructors on every day who you can interact and ask questions with. That alone is worth the $20 a month price tag. I have never been part of a tighter online community.

The instructors and other members have responded to every question i have had in expedient fashion through the fast forum community,and especially in the live Q&A. The lessons are top notch and of the greatest quality, with being in full HD, Their interactive and visually fun to watch. Production quality, professionalism, and overall bad assness, are terms id use to define this great website! I even had to make a few calls into tech support. I thought there were problems with their site, but they actually helped me find out it was my computer that was causing the issues, but wait, they didn't stop there. They actually helped guide me to troubleshoot the issue and directed me where to fix it. Saved me a call to Dell.

I give Five Star's, Two thumbs up, Sent one outta the ball park, however you say it. These guys have it all. If your reading my review and are wonder if you should make the jump...YES!!! I can guarantee you wont regret it."


 star  1      0   
Review By "Brandon" - Intermediate Guitarist

"I have been playing guitar for a few years now and, like many of us, came up against a brick wall. I didn’t feel I was progressing and it was getting frustrating. I have taken private lessons before and I wasn’t willing to put out $45-60 for a half hour and really not get anything done. I have even taken classes at the community college, but they are really for new beginners. I have also bought DVD’s, lesson books, and surfed the web.

Unfortunately, I was still stuck. That is when I thought I would give the online courses a try. I chose JamPlay.com for no other reason than it looked pretty cool. It worked great. In fact, I am playing better now than I have every played before.

Jamplay.com is great. The combination of online video lessons and the live chat is well worth the money. The biggest plus with the online lessons is the variety and the ability to search. I consider myself an intermediate fingerstyle player and I found 3 different instructors providing of 46 individual fingerstyle lessons. Each lesson is between 15 and 45 minutes long and covers a huge variety of topics. That’s a ton of lessons and it really helped me where I needed it.

But it really didn’t give me the exact help I needed. In fact, that is a problem with any prerecorded video lesson, they are generic. So, I decided to try the online live chat. I logged in and explained to the instructor what I was having problems with and zap, he knew exactly what I was doing wrong. In fact, sever other people in the chat room had the same problem and gave me their take on how to fix it. Within a few minutes I had a plan on where to go and it really worked.

Jamplay is a great resource for any level of guitar player and I highly recommend it. It has online video lessons, live chart with a highly skilled instructor, forums where people actually want to help each other, and they are consistently putting out new material so it does not stagnate. I have been with them for a couple of months now and I don’t ever seeing myself going anywhere else."


 star  2      0   
Review By "Jesse" - Intermediate Guitarist

"Hello there, My name is Jesse. I've been a member of Jamplay.com since 2008. Jesse, member of JamPlay.com

I got my first guitar for christmas of 2006. It was a beautiful Infinity Acoustic. And ever since then I've been playing on the daily. I recall a friend teaching me my first chord, an F major chord. After that I was hooked, and immediately asked my dad for private lessons and he agreed and I started private lessons at a local music school. My teacher's name was Jim and he helped me build my foundations on the guitar, and we are now good friends. But it wasn't but a year later when my dad told me he couldn't afford the private lessons anymore and I had to say my goodbye. I still see him occasionally when I come up to the music store he also works at when I need my baby repaired and what not. But I NEEDED a way to continue my studies with the guitar and without these lessons I wasn't sure what to do. I had boughten some books but it wasn't the same as actually being taught by a real person. So I started to browse the web for online guitar lessons .

Sure they're some decent free websites out there that you can use, but Jamplay.com was something better, way better. There is so much knowledge and potential on Jamplay that when I log on to the site I feel like I could learn absolutely anything I want to about guitar and music today. I could dive into so many pools of knowledge. So after taking some of the free lessons I decided to give it a chance and bought a month subscription for $19.95. I probably spend more time on Jamplay then I do anywhere else on the web. It's flat out fun! There are so many amazing musicians and personalities on the site. The videos are such good quality its amazing, and there are so many tools to behold on the site. One thing I love so much about the site is the steaming live sessions, where basically the teachers have schedules of getting on webcam and talking to members, answering questions, demonstrating things and just having a good time talking to the members. It's so awesome it's just something you would have to see for yourself.

So basically there are 3 phases to Jamplay. Firstly, the Beginners Phase. Even though I feel like I've risen from Beginner to Intermediate I still spend a lot of time in this phase because of all the different teachers in that phase. You can go through each beginning lesson series with each teacher and every time learn things you didn't from other teachers. Not to mention you get to build a connection with these great musicians, it's like they are actually there teaching you. You can comment and they will actually respond to you. Secondly comes Phase 2 or Genre Teachings. And again you have so many great instructors teaching the genres they know best, its amazing. e.i. Blues, Classic Rock, Folk, Jazz, Metal, Finger-style, Classical, Country, Celtic, and even Hawaiian Slack Key. Phase 3 is a great one, its all about learning songs. The teachers are constantly adding to this phase with more and more great songs you can learn in all sorts of genres. They literally take you step by step through the song and often give you a chance to play along with them to make sure you master it.

So in essence, I've fallen in love with the site. Without it i'd feel deprived of all this valuable knowledge I now have at my fingertips. My favorite teacher on the site is Mark Lincoln, he is a master of the acoustic guitar, a great songwriter, and a hilarious personality so you surely have to check him out if you decide to give Jamplay a chance . Thanks for giving my review a look and I hope it helps in your decision of choosing the right online music lesson site.

Stay cool my cats ;]“


 star  0      0   
Review By "uyfiim" - Intermediate Guitarist

qrbbitsw


Visit JamPlay!

 


JamPlay Review Table bottom
   

Help other guitarists by writing a quick JamPlay Review!

Here's how it works:

  • Join JamPlay.com
  • Try it out for at least 30 days
  • Submit your review (Include as much detail as you can)
  • I'll verify and post the review

Thank you so much for your support, and I look forward to reading your review of JamPlay!


 

Note: Your email address will NOT be published or used for anything other than confirmation...

   
Review Table botoom

Comparison of the Most Popular Ways to Learn Guitar:

Want to see how JamPlay stacks up against other common ways to learn guitar like taking lessons from a private teacher, or buying home study courses with books or DVD's? Check this out to help you decide if a JamPlay membership is the best way for you to learn guitar:

JamPlay vs Competition

Cost :
Money Icon While it's awesome to take lessons with a private 1-on-1 instructor, you get what you pay for: the average cost of a single half-hour guitar lesson ranges from $12 - $28+ (depending on your location), meaning you will have to spend $96-$224/month this way! Books and DVD's can work well at a much lower price, ranging from $20-$60, with some packages selling for $300 or $400. Having a JamPlay.com membership, you'll get access to 1,000's of high-quality video lessons, with more being added every day by their 34 instructors, for $19.95/month.

Lessons :
Lessons IconI'm a big believer that quality is a lot more important than quantity when it comes to lessons, it's still nice to know how far along you'll get when investing money into your guitar education. If you buy a book or DVD, you'll be lucky to get more than a few hours worth of lessons out of it. With private instructors, it's technically unlimited, but you pay for every single one, whether you learn anything or not (no rewind button when you're paying $40+ per hour). JamPlay has literally over 1,000 lessons (300+ hours, which works out to almost 3 years worth of two 30-minute sessions per week!

Teachers :
When I took Alto Saxophone lessons, I found myself getting a little tired of the style my teacher enjoyed playing, and even though he was a really nice guy, he just couldn't seem to get away from it in the way he was teaching me. This is one of the many downfalls to having only one instructor, which is typically the case, even with books and DVD's. That's precisely why JamPlay.com employs 46 professional guitar teachers, which was a big factor in my review.

Interaction :
jamplay logo When's the last time you bought a book or DVD, had a question, and emailed or called the creator for an answer? Taking lessons means you can get feedback and answers, which is sweet, but belonging to an online guitar community means you can ask 100's of guitarists, and get really quick responses.

Updated Lessons :
While I do like one DVD guitar course, I've found that most of them aren't worth the money because they're geared toward beginners, and I find myself blazing through the majority of the lessons. Then, I realize that there are no new lessons added, so the money I've invested is gone. With private lessons or an online membership, there is never a shortage of new stuff to work on to improve your skills.

Money-Back Guarantee :
"Joe, I'd like to thank you for the last 2 lessons you gave me, but I just don't think they were worth my $42. Can I have my money back?" Yeah right! No instructor in the World is going to do this...This is an advantage to buying a course or subscription with a money-back guarantee for sure.

Time Commitment :
Clock IconSpeaking of scheduling your lessons, do you have a ton of free time? Is it easy for you to drive or get a ride to a couple lessons every week? I'm guessing not. But, if you could learn guitar as little or as much as you wanted, whether it's 7:41pm or 2:27am, would that make things a little easier on your schedule? It did for me...

Styles :
Taking private lessons (or learning from books and DVD's), you'll quickly realize that the teacher or author is going to have a style they're most comfortable with, which you might not like at all. Being able to choose from a diverse group of 34 instructors (ranging from classical to heavy metal) makes sure you can learn the style you like most.

Pace :
Alright, this one is huge: No matter how good an instructor is at helping you understand the concepts, he/she is going to go at a pace you'll have to adjust to (or you'll end up paying WAY more than you expected to learn the basics). So, wouldn't it be nice to hit the rewind button if something happens too fast? Until someone inventsa human remote, we'll just have to stick with video guitar lessons, I guess. =)

Convenience :
Would you rather schedule a time you have to be somewhere, pack up your guitar, and drive to a lesson (all for just 25-30 minutes of actual learning time), or be able to watch video lessons at home, whenever you feel like it? As for convenience, you can't beat video guitar lessons!

JamPlay vs Guitar Tricks

If you have decided to take lessons online, that's awesome, but a lot of guitarists ask whether or not they should sign up to Guitar Tricks or JamPlay. Both are amazing resources with tons of content, helpful instructors, learning tools, and a ridiculous amount of video lessons, so either will be worth the money.

After trying both, I chose JamPlay due to its webcam lessons with pros, better interface, and higher-quality videos.

 

JamPlay Review Summary

In the end, it all comes down to how much help you can get learning guitar, and how much it's going to cost you. While I believe it's great to have 1-on-1 time with a private guitar instructor, I personally don't like the idea of spending over $1,500/year when I can get access to more than enough support online, without having to schedule it in or drive anywhere.

Another common strategy is to try to learn guitar by watching random guitar videos. Yes, it's true that this is free, unless you consider your time valuable. I tried getting by watching free videos, but to be honest: you never know who you're watching, and the majority of the time they are NOT professional teachers with well-organized guitar courses.

I hope my review of JamPlay has saved you time, and maybe even money. If you've decided to sign up, don't forget to enter the coupon code 86C6CC to save 25% on your first month!:

Visit JamPlay!



Disclosure: The review above is based on my personal in-depth evaluation of JamPlay.com. If you signup for a membership through a link on this page, I will receive a commission for referring a friend, which helps fund this website (and my music collection). This does NOT affect my opinion of the website in any way, or the price you pay. In fact, you'll save $4.99 with the above JamPlay coupon code.

Textarea Bottom
 

#1 - JamPlay
#2 - Learn and Master Guitar
#3 - Guitar Tricks
#4 - Jamorama

Guitar Lessons Critic