| | | | |

Guitar Tricks Review

UPDATE: Guitar Tricks is offering a 14-Day Free Trial! No worries...it's free for two weeks, and you can cancel anytime.

Guitar Tricks logoGuitar Tricks is an online community of 10,000's of guitarists. It was founded in 1998 by Jon Broderick, a San Fransisco Bay area guitarist, who created the site to provide aspiring guitarists with more in-depth guitar lessons, no matter what their skill level or favorite style of music to play on guitar.

One of the coolest parts of GuitarTricks.com is that it's so cheap. It comes with unlimited access to over 3,000 ready-to-watch video lessons, from 45 professional instructors, for only $14.95/month (less than the cost of 1 half-hour lesson with only one teacher, or even just a nice set of guitar strings)!

While Guitar Tricks can be overwhelming, and it can get distracting talking to other guitarists on the forums, it's a fun place to hang out and boost your skills from home. Click the button below to sign up for a FREE trial of Guitar Tricks:

Click here to visit Guitar Tricks!

Disclosure: If you buy Guitar Tricks through a link on this page, I will earn a much-appreciated commission for taking the time to write this review. You won't pay a penny more for the course, but a portion of the proceeds go to funding this 100% ad-free site (and my music collection), so thanks for your support and have fun learning guitar!

Not sure if GuitarTricks.com is what you're looking for? Check out this comparison to the top 3 courses...

JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn and Master Guitar Jamorama
Overall Rating 9.8/10 9.2/10 8.7/10 7.4/10
Lesson Quality 5 Stars 5 Stars 4 Stars 3.5 Stars
Value for Price 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 3.5 Stars
Support 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars
Teaching Style 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Lesson Variety 5 Stars 5 Stars 3.5 Stars 3 Stars
Ease of Use 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Entertainment 5 Stars 4 Stars 3.5 Stars 4.5 Stars
Learn More Read Jamplay Review Visit Guitar Tricks Read Learn and Master Guitar Review Read Jamorama Review
Product Online Community & 1,000+ Videos Online Community & Videos DVD's, Book, CD's & Forum PDF's, Videos & Software
Delivery Instant (Online) Instant (Online) 3-14 Days Instant (Online)
Guarantee 7-Day, 100%
Money-Back
60-Day 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back
Instructors 46 45 1 1
Beginner Check Check Check Check
Intermediate Check Check Check Check
Advanced Check X Check X
Song Lessons Check Check X X
Discounts 25% OFF Coupon:
86C6CC
14-Day
Free Trial
On Sale:
Save $100
X
Lowest Price $19.95/month* $14.95/month $249 $149 $49.95
Check it out: Visit JamPlay Visit Guitar Tricks Visit Learn and Master Guitar Visit Jamorama
Review Table Bottom
User generated reviews
JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn & Master Guitar Jamorama
Lesson Quality 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Value For Price 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars3 Stars
Support 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars2.5 Stars
Teaching Style 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars3 Stars
Lesson Variety 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Ease Of Use 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3.5 Stars
Entertainment 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3 Stars
No Of Ratings :8 Click here to give your rating
Review Table Bottom

Try GuitarTricks.com for Free:

14-Day Free Trial

Click the link above to see how you can get two weeks of unlimited lessons on Guitar Tricks for free.

Screenshots of GuitarTricks.com

Click the images below to see screenshots of the Guitar Tricks members area:



  Guitar Tricks Review

OVERALL RATING:
Rated 4.35/5 Stars

Guitar Tricks review sidebar

Lesson Quality: 4 Star Rating
Value for Price: 4.5 Star Rating
Support: 4.5 Star Rating
Teaching Style: 4.5 Star Rating
Lesson Variety: 5 Star Rating
Ease of Use: 4.5 Star Rating
Entertainment: 4 Star Rating

Product Community: 3,000+ Videos
Price: $14.95/month
Delivery: Instant
Guarantee: 60-Day, 100%

sidebox button

Will GuitarTricks.com Work for you?
Reviewed by Kyle, the Guitar Lessons Critic

Some people pay a private guitar instructor $15-$20 (or more) for each 30-minute lesson, which adds up to $100-$200/month, for 8 lessons or so, from one teacher.

Other people (like me) pay $14.95/month for unlimited access to over 3,000 high-quality video lessons online, from 45 instructors. To me, it's a no-brainer, except for the getting less 1-on-1 attention.

GuitarTricks.com is a great place to talk to & learn from other guitarists, and watch videos to help you learn songs, master the basics (tuning, reading tabs, chords, scales, etc.), and even get into more advanced styles like heavy metal or classical finger-picking!

Here's what you'll get when you join Guitar Tricks:

  • Unlimited access to over 3,000 high-quality video lessons
  • Community Support (Huge forum & help from 45 instructors)
  • Tons of tutorials from professional guitarists
  • JamStation software: Customizable backing tracks
  • The "Technique Reference Library"
  • Ultimate Metronome & Reference Tuner software

While it's easy to get distracted by the 1,000's of video lessons & tutorials, they do a pretty good job of organizing them so they flow from beginning, to intermediate, to advanced skill levels.

In the end, Guitar Tricks is tough to beat on value for price. At $14.95/month, you couldn't get more than 1 half-hour lesson from a single instructor, but with this membership you could watch 10 video lessons/day and practice along the whole time, at your own pace, in your bedroom. Pretty sweet, I have to admit...

Check out GuitarTricks.com to get 24 FREE video guitar lessons:

Check out Guitar Tricks!

GuitarTricks.com Pros

Here are some of my favorite things about being a member of Guitar Tricks:

  • The video lessons are high-quality
  • It's cool meeting, talking to, and learning from 10,000's of guitarists around the World
  • The membership is insanely cheap for what you get ($14.95/month for unlimited access)!
  • There are 45 instructors to learn from, covering tons of styles & genres
  • JamStation is pretty cool for designing backing tracks to solo and/or sing over
  • Ultimate Metronome is a good way to increase dexterity by boosting the tempo of exercises
  • I love being able to learn & practice at home, whenever I want

GuitarTricks.com Cons

Though it's awesome overall, there are some things I do NOT like about Guitar Tricks:

  • Ever spend like 3 hours on YouTube? With so many lessons, it's easy to get distracted here too
  • Some of the lessons focus too much on beginners, moving too slowly for intermediate players
  • Since there are so many instructors, sometimes it's tough to switch mindsets for their teaching styles
  • It'd be really cool if they offered more video guitar tabs for specific songs (though there are quite a few)

I've realized that if you follow the flow of their lessons, and stick with 1-3 instructors at a time, it's a lot easier to sort of master one skill or technique, then move on. Plus, to be honest, I try to avoid the forums unless I'm sick of practicing or just really tired, just to make sure I don't get too distracted, which helps. Overall, I definitely recommend Guitar Tricks.



How Guitar Tricks helped me...

I have been a guitarist for over a decade now, but I had always learned from guitar tabs. I gradually built up my skills by pushing myself to master tougher songs, but I never really dove in to get formal training. I never really knew any of the specifics of playing guitar, any of the advanced techniques, or any of the "Why's" & "How's" of the instrument.

After investing in a home study course, I realized that I also wanted to be part of a community, to watch newly-added videos, talk with other guitarists, and learn more about specific genres.

I found 3 websites that had all of this, but GuitarTricks.com was the ONLY one I stuck with after trying them all.

Overall, I'm happy knowing that for less than the cost of a 30-minute lesson, I get an entire month's worth of improving my skills as a guitarist, all from home, without any pressure or need to practice stuff I don't like.

I get to learn at my own pace, and have fun with it. Plus, most of the books and home study courses I found didn't really get into specific techniques and styles like some of the video lessons they've created, and the ones that do would cost a lot of time & money to buy separately. If you like learning guitar from home (and saving money), Guitar Tricks is sweet!


YouTube vs Guitar Tricks: "Why should I pay for video lessons?"

So I've gotten quite a few emails asking about learning guitar with YouTube videos, and I agree that (like with just about anything nowadays) there are tons of videos out there to help you learn guitar. Most of the emails I've gotten about this are from guitarists concerned that they shouldn't have to pay for videos, when there are so many free ones available. I personally have learned a few songs from free videos on YouTube.com, so I understand the concern.

Guitar Tricks or Free videos?However, I will say that one of the biggest flaws with learning anything online, is that it's easy to get distracted. In fact, that's one of the "Cons" of GuitarTricks.com, compared to learning from an instructor or with books or DVD's alone.

That said, belonging to a community of aspiring guitarists and learning from 45 professional instructors by watching high-quality videos made specifically for instruction, is a bit different than seeing some random dude show you how well he can play "Free Bird", ya know? There's a HUGE difference between learning from random people, and learning from professionally-trained instructors.

While there are tons of cool free videos online, the biggest problem is that it's VERY difficult to stay focused, and next to impossible to go through a step-by-step process to learn the fundamentals, then build upon that solid foundation with more advanced techniques, all from pros, for free.

Oh yeah, and it's important to say that learning from books can not be compared to watching someone while they teach you something, so any videos designed to help you learn guitar will help you out. But, if you bought one book every month or so (like people had to do less than 20 years ago), you'd be spending more than the $14.95/month for Guitar Tricks.

As for private lessons: you couldn't get more than 30 minutes with an instructor for the cost of a 1-month membership with unlimited access to 45 teachers, so it's still a ridiculously good deal.

YouTube videos are cool, but you'll never learn as much from them as you could with professional guitarists teaching you specific techniques, a community of other guitarists to learn from, and killer guitar training software programs. Period. But, if you think scouring the Internet for hours & hours to filter out the lame stuff and find the videos worth your time, is really worth saving $14.95 (less than a large pizza), more power to you...=)

Bottom line: You get what you pay for. If you want to spend less time finding random people on YouTube than actually learning guitar from professionals, then Guitar Tricks is definitely worth the $14.95/month. The fact that the videos are well-organized, edited, and in a step-by-step order for every style and skill level means you'll save TONS of time in the end.

Click here to see Guitar Tricks!


Other GuitarTricks.com Reviews

4 stars "Unique and worth trying. I'd give it a 4/5."
GuitarTricks Review By "Marc" - Intermediate Guitarist.

"Since a private teacher is too expensive for me, I decided to give online guitar lessons a try. My first choice was GuitarTricks.com, because it is cheaper than JamPlay.

As I wrote in my Jamplay.com Review, I already moved on to them. Still, I'd recommend Guitar Tricks for everybody who don't wanna spend the high price of $20 per month just for your first steps with your new instrument. I guess, Guitar Tricks is probably the best choice for beginners.

The two longer beginner courses with a lot of content as well as the either two blues, country or rock courses in same length, are one of the best things a beginner could use to get used to the instrument. With four courses in a row, given hundreds of specific videos in a row, you'll have a great common thread you can work on, especially if you are new to the instrument.

Even me, after some years playing, learned new things, especially about music theory. Every upside has downsides – content for intermediate is a little bit rare and the jump from beginner to professional-experienced lessons is higher than it should be. Maybe I did not spend enough time with it. I guess it might have something to do with the fact that they're not in an order like the courses before, so you need to re-educate the lesson style, which I had no time to do before my subscription run out ;).

Also, the quality of the videos varies a lot, as there are videos from 2005 till now. Older ones are very amateurish (not in lesson quality, but in simple video quality) while newer ones are very good recordings.

The quantity of content is enormous. There are a lot more videos and categories compared to it's competitor, so it'll give you a larger variety of especially music genres. GuitarTricks.com might give you examples for nearly every music genre which exists.

But I guess, since the price is very good compared to it's alternatives, it'll be profitable to just give it a try. Comparing Guitar Tricks vs JamPlay is really hard, since it lacks of some features (no webcam sessions, less social networking), but has got almost the biggest video amount as well as the lowest price, which makes it unique and test-worthy.

I'd give it a 4/5."


3 stars "Guitar Tricks was okay to me, but didn't beat out it's competitors."
By "Alex" - Intermediate Guitarist.

"I wrote a review recently on this website about JamPlay.com, and now I have decided to write a review of a website that I don't like as much, but I still like, Guitartricks.com. I have been playing guitar for around 3 years now, and I love to use guitar lesson sites. I first signed up to this site about 6 months ago, only to have a bad experience with the site.

Apparently, someone hacked in and stole my credit card information. Well, I canceled it and got JamPlay, but about two months ago I decided to try it again after noticing that Guitar Tricks had started to put song lessons on their site, something that they hadn't done when I first had it.

I tried it again for about 2 months, but a couple days ago, I canceled it again. Not because it was terrible, but because I just can't afford two lesson websites at one time. Nevertheless, I am still going to write a review based on my two months of experience of this website. I don't feel the need to post a picture this time, seeing as I am now a free member as of a week ago. Okay, enough talking about that, lets talk about my experience on this site. This site is definitely a good site, but I still have problems trusting it after my information was stolen from the website.

I really liked what they had improved on when I came back to the website. I loved the fact that they had put in the new features of song lessons. That was a real plus for the site. I really like their amount of instructors. They had a HUGE amount of instructors, a lot more since the first time that I subscribed. They have a whole lot more than JamPlay does. I liked how they had 14.95 a month subscription. That was cheap compared to other websites that I have purchased in the past, but still, it is hard to afford two guitar sites at the same time. That is why I canceled this and stuck with Jam play.

I will tell you my main reasoning for this now. Here are some of the cons of this website. One con is the layout of the site. It is not very neat in my opinion, and kind of hard to navigate. I like the layout of sites like Jam Play more, but that could just be personal opinion. I didn't really like that overall quality of the lessons either. They just didn't have all of the supplemental content or instructor support that its competitor, JamPlay has. I may sound like a Jam Play fan boy, but this is just what I see in Guitar Tricks.

I think that without a doubt, Jam Play is the smarter option. You get more bang for your buck, but lets get back to guitar tricks. This site has about 3/4 of the stuff that it's competitors have, but for about 3/4 the price. That is a good thing, but I would rather pay the extra 5 dollars a month to get something with more interactivity and help to beginners.

If I were you, I would just pay the extra five dollars a month and go with JamPlay, because they are going to give you a lot more features than Guitar Tricks will, and the instructors actually reply to you. Guitar Tricks was okay to me, but didn't beat out it's competitors. It didn't sell me, and I don't think it will sell anyone else who has gotten a subscription such as Jam Play, or any other lesson site."


5 stars "I have been very happy so far with the courses and teachers..."
By "Matthew" - Beginner Guitarist. Joined GuitarTricks.com July, 2010.

"I just joined GuitarTricks a couple of weeks ago. True beginner here, I can't call myself anything else but that for now. I had some knowledge of basic chords and some scales, but I really wanted to learn now and become a real player, so I joined GuitarTricks.com.

I had looked at other programs, mainly on-line programs because my work now is out of the country, Japan to be exact and this is the easiest way to learn in my apartment without paying big bucks for a local teacher.

I also looked at Jamplay and other online course but I thought that Guitar Tricks seemed like it was more structured in providing its Core Program of Fundamentals and then leaping into Blues, Country or Rock after learning the basics. Jamplay seemed more haphazard and no real structure, there are too many teachers who teach the same thing. You're supposed to jump back and forth between teachers to find which one you like best and then learn from them. What? I wanted to learn to play guitar, not spend time figuring out which teacher I liked best.

The content and structure of the lessons was the most important thing for me. Oh and by the way the teachers are great! I also looked at the Learn & Master Guitar DVD course, but this course is limited to how much you can learn based on the amount of DVDs you get. Any advanced lessons you have to purchase more DVDs.

Guitar Tricks seems to offer all that and more and besides they were offering a special $99/year, but I had already made my mind up to join them, this just made it easier to pull the trigger. I have been very happy so far with the courses and teachers and am progressing very well towards finishing the introductory beginner courses.

The videos are short enough to be comprehensive, but not too long to be overwhelming. I have looked at some of the other videos and they also look to be of the same quality and easy to understand and follow. I really like that fact that you can loop certain portions of the video and have it repeat over and over to drill it into my thick head, instead of having to stop and press a button each time. This feature will definitely come be handy as I progress.

Shortly, maybe next month, I will be taking my first blues lessons. I am a fast learner and should, hope, to finish this course within 8 months. After which I will exhaust all that Guitar Tricks has to offer, I hope, to make me truly an intermediate guitar player. Not bad for less than a year, and for less than $100 bucks. I'd call that deal any day!"


3 stars "No consistency beween the lesson content"
By "Jill" - Intermediate Guitarist.

"I have always loved music and have played instruments since I was a kid. Piano, flute and then my favorite...the guitar. I took lessons with the piano, played flute in the school band program and then was mostly self-taught on the guitar until I hit a point where I felt I needed further instruction to continue to progress.

I had used books, DVDs, etc but I still felt like I needed something else. The internet seemed to have a lot of options but there is so much out there to choose from I didn't know where to site. I found an ad for Guitar Tricks online while searching for guitar tab. I checked out the free content and thought it would be just what I had been looking for. I joined and it really is a good site.

Guitar Tricks offers a wide variety of styles, genres and instructors to choose from. They have online tools such as metronome, tuner and backing tracks. They offer community forums and of course! the freedom to take lessons at your own pace, at convenient times and in your own home. They have song lessons which is always fun and the site works well although I thought the layout of the site could have been a little easier to use if it was laid out a little differently.

My main disappointment in the site was that it seemed there was no consistency between the lesson content. It seemed like the instructors just video taped or recorded themselves on whatever equipment they personally owned and then Guitar Tricks put it on the site. I could be wrong about this and this may have changed since I let my membership expire, but when I was a member some of the instructors had very useful videos and included printed material as supplement to the lessons while other instructors might only have an audio clip and no supplemental content. I found this made the site feel very disjointed and made me frustrated when there was a lesson on a technique I wanted to learn but no video to help me visually see how to accomplish the technique.

I didn't feel like the site was updated enough to keep it interesting to me. A lot of the instructors seemed uninterested in their videos and some of the lessons felt like not a lot of effort was put in. I did really like the jam station and some of the reference tools. Some of the videos that were done well were very good and some of the instructors were great...it just wasn't consistent. I like that they have a forum for members to exchange ideas but I never got a real sense of community while I was a member.

Overall Guitar Tricks is a good site but as this guitar lesson critic site has pointed out...there may be a better choice out there. It is worth checking out some of the free lessons for yourself though and see what you think. I have also posted a review for Jamplay and if you read both reviews you will see how I feel the two sites differ. I would highly recommend checking both sites out and see which one fits your personality and learning needs the best."


 star  2      0   
Review By "Marc" - Intermediate Guitarist

"Since a private teacher is too expensive for me, I decided to give online guitar lessons a try. My first choice was GuitarTricks.com, because it is cheaper than JamPlay.

As I wrote in my Jamplay.com Review, I already moved on to them. Still, I'd recommend Guitar Tricks for everybody who don't wanna spend the high price of $20 per month just for your first steps with your new instrument. I guess, Guitar Tricks is probably the best choice for beginners.

The two longer beginner courses with a lot of content as well as the either two blues, country or rock courses in same length, are one of the best things a beginner could use to get used to the instrument. With four courses in a row, given hundreds of specific videos in a row, you'll have a great common thread you can work on, especially if you are new to the instrument.

Even me, after some years playing, learned new things, especially about music theory. Every upside has downsides – content for intermediate is a little bit rare and the jump from beginner to professional-experienced lessons is higher than it should be. Maybe I did not spend enough time with it. I guess it might have something to do with the fact that they're not in an order like the courses before, so you need to re-educate the lesson style, which I had no time to do before my subscription run out ;).

Also, the quality of the videos varies a lot, as there are videos from 2005 till now. Older ones are very amateurish (not in lesson quality, but in simple video quality) while newer ones are very good recordings.

The quantity of content is enormous. There are a lot more videos and categories compared to it's competitor, so it'll give you a larger variety of especially music genres. GuitarTricks.com might give you examples for nearly every music genre which exists.

But I guess, since the price is very good compared to it's alternatives, it'll be profitable to just give it a try. Comparing Guitar Tricks vs JamPlay is really hard, since it lacks of some features (no webcam sessions, less social networking), but has got almost the biggest video amount as well as the lowest price, which makes it unique and test-worthy.

I'd give it a 4/5."


 star  2      1   
Review By "Alex" - Intermediate Guitarist

"I wrote a review recently on this website about JamPlay.com, and now I have decided to write a review of a website that I don't like as much, but I still like, Guitartricks.com. I have been playing guitar for around 3 years now, and I love to use guitar lesson sites. I first signed up to this site about 6 months ago, only to have a bad experience with the site.

Apparently, someone hacked in and stole my credit card information. Well, I canceled it and got JamPlay, but about two months ago I decided to try it again after noticing that Guitar Tricks had started to put song lessons on their site, something that they hadn't done when I first had it.

I tried it again for about 2 months, but a couple days ago, I canceled it again. Not because it was terrible, but because I just can't afford two lesson websites at one time. Nevertheless, I am still going to write a review based on my two months of experience of this website. I don't feel the need to post a picture this time, seeing as I am now a free member as of a week ago. Okay, enough talking about that, lets talk about my experience on this site. This site is definitely a good site, but I still have problems trusting it after my information was stolen from the website.

I really liked what they had improved on when I came back to the website. I loved the fact that they had put in the new features of song lessons. That was a real plus for the site. I really like their amount of instructors. They had a HUGE amount of instructors, a lot more since the first time that I subscribed. They have a whole lot more than JamPlay does. I liked how they had 14.95 a month subscription. That was cheap compared to other websites that I have purchased in the past, but still, it is hard to afford two guitar sites at the same time. That is why I canceled this and stuck with Jam play.

I will tell you my main reasoning for this now. Here are some of the cons of this website. One con is the layout of the site. It is not very neat in my opinion, and kind of hard to navigate. I like the layout of sites like Jam Play more, but that could just be personal opinion. I didn't really like that overall quality of the lessons either. They just didn't have all of the supplemental content or instructor support that its competitor, JamPlay has. I may sound like a Jam Play fan boy, but this is just what I see in Guitar Tricks.

I think that without a doubt, Jam Play is the smarter option. You get more bang for your buck, but lets get back to guitar tricks. This site has about 3/4 of the stuff that it's competitors have, but for about 3/4 the price. That is a good thing, but I would rather pay the extra 5 dollars a month to get something with more interactivity and help to beginners.

If I were you, I would just pay the extra five dollars a month and go with JamPlay, because they are going to give you a lot more features than Guitar Tricks will, and the instructors actually reply to you. Guitar Tricks was okay to me, but didn't beat out it's competitors. It didn't sell me, and I don't think it will sell anyone else who has gotten a subscription such as Jam Play, or any other lesson site."


 star  2      0   
Review By "Steve " - Intermediate Guitarist

My experience was awful so I moved to Jamplay. You start with one structure in the beginning with a great instructor then your pushed into this quagmire of instructors who are great but teach from their own methods. I had to relearn their way with them using a different guitar technique. Each instructor calls their approach correct, but they are all different on methods. I tried to work with them to find the glue so to speak and just got moved to another lesson number with a different instructor when I complained. Allot of the courses need to be sequenced so that you continue in progress where you left off from the entry level courses into the next levels with the same instructors. I just got pad answers in the forum, I was with them from 2008. I finally went to Jamplay and found the things I need, live guitar forums with instructors I can talk with and the method lessons in Jamplay take me through all the steps I need. I would not rate Guitartricks second except they are the only other out there. Jamplays cost for the annual pay blows Guitartricks away at around 12 dollers a month.I will never go back


 star  0      0   
Review By "hello" - Intermediate Guitarist

ezjwzeb lqcyxk.com/ klkfuikh [url=wucpfi.com/]klkfuikh[/url]



About the GuitarTricks.com Team

In 1998, a guy named Jon Broderick decided that the Internet didn't have enough high-quality guitar lessons, so he created a website called GuitarTricks.com, designed to focus on providing as much material as possible.

He gradually found over 40 professional guitarists trained in styles ranging from classical to heavy metal, and together they've created over 3,000 video guitar lessons.GuitarTricks.com creator

There are over 400,000 guitarists that go to GuitarTricks.com every month, and many of them are active in the forums. Over time, more and more support has been added, along with more lessons being added every day, all to help as many aspiring guitarists as possible.

While there are many resources online for learning to play guitar, Guitar Tricks offers what some claim to be the best value, charging only $14.95/month for unlimited access to their entire library of video lessons, tutorials, software programs, and massive community forum.



"Is Guitar Tricks right for me?"

If you're a complete beginner, I would at least sign up to get their 24 FREE video lessons. They're a great place to start, walking you through things like holding the guitar, tuning, the fretboard (guitar anatomy), notes, chords, scales, and more...If you've already been playing a while, Guitar Tricks is a cool, inexpensive way to expand your skills from home.

If you're an advanced player, most of the video lessons on this website probably won't challenge you too much, but the one advantage it has over home study courses is that the instructors dive deeper into advanced skills like fingerpicking, classical guitar and tougher styles like Flamenco. There aren't anywhere near as many advanced lessons as there are beginner or intermediate, but at least they cover the more difficult stuff, right?

While it's not the only thing you'll ever need as a guitarist, you definitely can't beat Guitar Tricks for $14.95/month.

I hope you enjoyed my Guitar Tricks review! Be sure to come back and submit your own review so we can continue helping other guitarists choose the best lessons for them. Thanks!


Guitar Tricks Review Summary

Learning guitar from home is awesome, and I highly recommend doing it with Guitar Tricks:

  1. Learn at your own pace, whether you're a beginner or intermediate guitarist
  2. Unlimited access to over 3,000 video lessons & tutorials
  3. Build your skills with the Ultimate Metronome & JamStation software
  4. Learn tons of styles and techniques from 45 professionally-trained instructors
  5. Get all this stuff for $14.95/month!

If nothing else, sign up for 24 FREE video lessons to see what they have to offer:

Check out Guitar Tricks

 

   

Write your own GuitarTricks.com Review

Have you tried Guitar Tricks? Please take a minute to submit your own review below!


 

Note: Your email address will NOT be published or used for anything other than confirmation!

   

 

Disclosure: As an independent reviewer of guitar lesson websites, I appreciate any purchases made through links on this page, because I receieve commissions when I refer friends & visitors. This in no way affects my in-depth, unbiased analysis of the website, but it does help fund this website and my iTunes music addiction. =) Thanks for reading my Guitar Tricks review!

 

 

#1 - JamPlay
#2 -Guitar Tricks
#3 - Learn and Master Guitar
#4 - Jamorama

Guitar Lessons Critic