Guitar Lessons Critic header
| | | | |
Textarea Top

Learn and Master Guitar Review

Learn and Master Guitar logoLearn and Master Guitar is a home study course designed to replace private guitar lessons. While it's not as helpful for everyone as in-person instruction, it's a great way to save money in the long run, especially for anyone just getting started learning to play guitar.

While Learn & Master Guitar is a fantastic DVD course for beginners and intermediate guitarists, I would NOT recommend it for anyone who has had significant formal guitar training, because it will most likely move too slowly.

That said, I've been playing guitar since I was 11 years old, and while I found myself getting bored through some lessons, I was struggling & repeating others...It helped me strengthen my foundation, and fill in some gaps with my skills.

If you're serious about learning to play guitar, and you don't want to spend $1,000's every year for lessons ($16/lesson on average, 2x/week, comes to about $1,536/year), I would recommend investing in Learn and Master Guitar.

Check out Learn & Master Guitar!

Disclosure: If you buy Learn & Master Guitar through a link on this page, I will earn a much-appreciated commission for taking the time to write this review. You won't pay a penny more for the course, but a portion of the proceeds go to funding this 100% ad-free site (and my music collection), so thanks for your support and have fun learning guitar!

Compare the Best Guitar Lessons Side-by-Side

Not sure if Learn & Master Guitar is right for you? Compare it to the most popular guitar courses below...

JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn and Master Guitar Jamorama
Overall Rating 9.8/10 9.2/10 8.7/10 7.4/10
Lesson Quality 5 Stars 5 Stars 4 Stars 3.5 Stars
Value for Price 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 3.5 Stars
Support 5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars
Teaching Style 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Lesson Variety 5 Stars 5 Stars 3.5 Stars 3 Stars
Ease of Use 4.5 Stars 4 Stars 4.5 Stars 4 Stars
Entertainment 5 Stars 4 Stars 3.5 Stars 4.5 Stars
Learn More Read Review Read Review Read Review Read Review
Product Online Community & 1,000+ Videos Online Community & Videos DVD's, Book, CD's & Forum PDF's, Videos & Software
Delivery Instant (Online) Instant (Online) 3-14 Days Instant (Online)
Guarantee 7-Day, 100%
Money-Back
60-Day 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back 60-Day, 100% Money-Back
Instructors 46 45 1 1
Beginner Check Check Check Check
Intermediate Check Check Check Check
Advanced Check X Check X
Song Lessons Check Check X X
Discounts 25% OFF Coupon:
86C6CC
14-Day
Free Trial
On Sale:
Save $100
X
Lowest Price $19.95/month* $14.95/month $249 $149 $49.95
Check it out: Visit JamPlay Visit Guitar Tricks Visit Learn and Master Guitar Visit Jamorama
#review
Review Table Bottom
User generated reviews
JamPlay Guitar Tricks Learn & Master Guitar Jamorama
Lesson Quality 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Value For Price 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars3 Stars
Support 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars2.5 Stars
Teaching Style 3.5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars3 Stars
Lesson Variety 3.5 Stars4 Stars4.5 Stars2.5 Stars
Ease Of Use 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3.5 Stars
Entertainment 3.5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars3 Stars
No Of Ratings :8 Click here to give your rating
Review Table Bottom

*UPDATE: Get $4.99 off of your first month at JamPlay.com:

JamPlay coupon code

 


  Learn and Master Guitar Review

OVERALL RATING:
Rated 4.5/5 Stars

Learn and Master Guitar review sidebar

Lesson Quality: 5 Star Rating
Value for Price: 4.5 Star Rating
Support: 4 Star Rating
Teaching Style: 4.5 Star Rating
Lesson Variety: 3.5 Star Rating
Ease of Use: 4.5 Star Rating
Entertainment: 3.5 Star Rating

Product DVD's, Book, CD's & Forum
Price: $149
Delivery: 3-14 Days
Guarantee: 60-Day, 100%

Sidebar Button

Sidebar Box Bottom

Is Learn & Master Guitar right for you?
This in-depth Learn and Master Guitar review will help you decide.

Reviewed by Kyle, the Guitar Lessons Critic

If you want to learn to play guitar from home, or simply avoid spending $100/month or more for private lessons, this could very well be the best option for you...

It is a step-by-step DVD course that walks even a complete beginner through everything from tuning & holding the guitar properly, to chords, to advanced scales and soloing.

Here's what Learn & Master Guitar comes with:

  • High-quality lesson binder
  • 107 pg lesson book (Fundamental theory & lots of exercises)
  • 10 DVD's (20 DVD's with Deluxe Edition)
  • 5 "Jam-Along" CD's
  • Online community support (Forum)

Bottom Line: Though it costs $249 $149, Learn and Master Guitar will do a great job replacing $15-$20 half-hour lessons, so you could easily save over $1,500 compared to a year of lessons.

I've been playing guitar since I was 11 years old, but I never took private lessons. I taught myself, picked up skills from friends, and figured out songs with guitar tabs for over 10 years, but I had trouble with far too many techniques and writing my own songs.

Come to find out, formal guitar training is a great investment!

If you're serious about becoming an awesome guitarist, but don't want to shell out $1,000's/year on lessons, I'd highly recommend Learn and Master Guitar:

Click to visit Learn and Master Guitar
Product Box Bottom

Learn and Master Guitar Pros

Here are some of the highlights of the course:

  • Much cheaper than private guitar lessons
  • Lays a solid foundation of guitar basics
  • High-quality DVD's are easy to watch & follow along with at home
  • Allows for practice anytime, unlike scheduled lessons
  • Jam-along CD's make learning to play with a band and solo a lot easier & less embarrassing
  • Lesson book covers the fundamentals, but builds to intermediate exercises gradually
  • You can talk to Steve (the instructor) and other guitarists on the forum
  • It covers a wide variety of musical styles (acoustic/classical, rock, jazz, blues, country, R&B, funk, etc.)
  • It's fun and comfortable to practice guitar at home

Learn and Master Guitar Cons

Though I liked it overall, there were flaws with this course. Here are the negatives, in my opinion:

  • You have to wait for it to be shipped to your house
  • If you've been playing for a while, some of the lessons will move a little slow
  • While the videos are nice, there could be more variety in the lessons
  • Steve is the only instructor, and though he's a pro, it'd be nice to have more teachers at hand
  • The forum is fairly active, and the people are nice, but it could be a much more active guitarist community

Overall, Learn & Master Guitar is well-worth the investment. Some people feel that there's nothing that can replace a private instructor, but I believe that being able to re-watch the lessons and practice whenever you want, at your own pace, helps you to absorb the material better, which can be far more valuable than traditional lessons.


Screenshots of Learn and Master Guitar DVDs

Click the images below to see screenshots of some of the DVD lessons in Learn and Master Guitar:


Other User Reviews of Learn & Master Guitar

5 stars "This is an outstanding value and high quality guitar course"
By "Johnny Guitar" from Carmichael, CA USA on May 12, 2008. Found on Amazon.com.

"If you prefer to buy one curriculum of material that is well organized instead of a bookcase full of booklets that don't tie together very well, this is the course you have been looking for. This starts from zero and teaches you exactly what you need to know to really learn to play guitar. You will develop knowledge and skills in theory, music reading, technique, variety of styles, etc.

The course is appropriate for beginner and intermediate level guitar players. Many who think they are intermediate level will find they are beginners when they tackle this course...It is well organized, the instructional design is very good, you can see where you are going (unlike with lessons) and you can do it at your own pace, at your own time. I'm not knocking lessons, they have their place, but I think this is an excellent way to learn to play guitar if you are committed to learning."


5 stars Gibson - Lesson Review: Learn and Master Guitar
By Dave Hunter on June 10, 2009. Found on Gibson.com.

"Learn & Master Guitar: Expanded Edition...is one of the most thorough multi-media lesson sets available. Having occasionally browsed and sampled other systems that promise to be a one-stop shop for mastery of the instrument, and too often turned away with doubts about the veracity of such claims, a test run through Learn & Master Guitar: Expanded Edition leaves me confident that this package really is capable of taking the non-player all the way from the basic steps of tuning the instrument and fingering notes and chords, to executing advanced songs in a broad range of styles."


5 stars Experience with "Learn and Master Guitar with Steve Krenz"?
By "bbach" on November 18, 2008. Found on Harmony Central Forums.

"I've blown a lot of money on a lot of self learning programs. There are a couple things I find frustrating with most of the learning programs I've tried:

  1. They really are for beginners. If you are a more advanced player and have a good working knowledge of theory and know the fretboard, the program will disappoint you.
  2. Most of the learning programs including "Learn and Master Guitar" tend to feed you shortcuts that in my opinion really hurt you as you progress and you will end up going back and relearning. What I mean by that is they tend to really simplify songs. When you actually dig up the sheet music for the songs in the program, you will find what they taught you to be no where near enough. They also do not tell you "why" things work. That makes it tough to take their lessons and change keys and embellish on your own.

Keep in mind that they are trying to take a beginner and get them up and running, and for that, I think L & M Guitar is a good program. I can tell you this as a plus for LAMG: When I bought that program I felt stuck and did not know how to advance my playing or what direction to go, and trying "anything" can help get you off dead center and LAMG did help me in that respect. It got my engines going again and I moved on. For that, it was worth the price. I've certainly lost more on live lessons from disorganized instructors.

When you buy LAMG you get access to a forum filled with Steve's worshippers. It is kind of lame but there is a lot of help if you get stuck on any of the lessons. So, buy it if you are a beginner and want a place to start, or are very stuck trying to figure out where to go next."


5 stars Re: Learn and Master Guitar??
By Jason on January 3, 2009. Found on My Les Paul Forums.

"I got the package yesterday and it's pretty sweet. Has a very nice workbook that goes through each phase of the CD and also a link to download another 180 page workbook that goes a little more in-depth as well. I purchased the extended version of 20 DVD's, workbook (which has some written tests also) and is packaged in a glossy case that holds all of it.

I worked on the 1st DVD last night and it went really well. They have a large online community where you can post questions and such, which some get answered by Steve Krenz himself.

I'd say it's well worth the investment...Jason"


5 stars "It's working for me."
By "jrigwald" on December 30, 2008. Found on Harmony Central Forums.

"I bought the Learn & Master Guitar series and I love it. I would consider myself a noob even though I have been playing around with my guitars for a couple years. I am a firefighter and work a 24on/48off work schedule and taking lessons with a instructor on a regular basis is just not feasible. Generally what I have found is instructors want a regular client they can schedule at the same time every week. Well I am not able to do that. So what is the next best thing? Well you got it, DVD lessons that I can turn on at any time...

...I'm not trying to suggest that this course is the only thing you need to become a rock star, but for a noob it is a great cost effective start. As far as I'm concerned, I have already made my money back by not having to go to a instructor for the basics. I will definitely go to a guitar instructor when I feel I need more help. But for now, I'm doing just fine. My wallet thanks me for buying it. It was a small investment for a lot of personal enjoyment..."

 


 star  0      0   
Review By "Johnny Guitar" - Intermediate Guitarist

"If you prefer to buy one curriculum of material that is well organized instead of a bookcase full of booklets that don't tie together very well, this is the course you have been looking for. This starts from zero and teaches you exactly what you need to know to really learn to play guitar. You will develop knowledge and skills in theory, music reading, technique, variety of styles, etc.

The course is appropriate for beginner and intermediate level guitar players. Many who think they are intermediate level will find they are beginners when they tackle this course...It is well organized, the instructional design is very good, you can see where you are going (unlike with lessons) and you can do it at your own pace, at your own time. I'm not knocking lessons, they have their place, but I think this is an excellent way to learn to play guitar if you are committed to learning."


 star  1      0   
Review By "Dave Hunger" - Intermediate Guitarist

"Learn & Master Guitar: Expanded Edition...is one of the most thorough multi-media lesson sets available. Having occasionally browsed and sampled other systems that promise to be a one-stop shop for mastery of the instrument, and too often turned away with doubts about the veracity of such claims, a test run through Learn & Master Guitar: Expanded Edition leaves me confident that this package really is capable of taking the non-player all the way from the basic steps of tuning the instrument and fingering notes and chords, to executing advanced songs in a broad range of styles."


 star  0      0   
Review By "Johna976" - Beginner Guitarist

I think you have noted some very interesting points , appreciate it for the post. fbdfagdffeeg


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmk252" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site!


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmc574" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmd383" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! [url=apxoiey2.com/qovot/2.html]cheap goods[/url]


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmk435" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmf37" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods apeoixy2.com/xqqsq/4.html


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharme465" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmd278" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods opeyixa2.com/qovqyo/4.html


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmf894" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site!


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharme633" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! [url=oixapey2.com/aqsror/2.html]cheap goods[/url]


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharme148" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods oixapey2.com/aqsror/4.html


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharme30" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site!


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmk244" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharme750" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! [url=ypxoiea2.com/qyaokq/2.html]cheap goods[/url]


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharma142" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site! cheap goods ypxoiea2.com/qyaokq/4.html


 star  0      0   
Review By "Pharmc141" - Beginner Guitarist

Very nice site!


 star  0      0   
Review By "vviilmn" - Intermediate Guitarist

tpovptic


 star  0      0   
Review By "hello" - Intermediate Guitarist

eyxpnizd ykumjt.com/ euemduaa [url=cdzcmw.com/]euemduaa[/url]


   

Write your own review of Learn and Master Guitar

If you've tried Learn & Master Guitar, please take a moment to help other guitarists decide if it's a good choice for them! It'll only take a minute or two to submit the form below.


 

Note: Your email address will NOT be published or used for anything other than confirmation!

   


"Is Learn and Master Guitar right for me?"

In summary, this course is excellent for beginners, and is a good way for intermediate guitarists like myself to improve their playing, learn new skills, and master the basics.

They have a 60-day 100% money-back guarantee, so if you try it and find that it's not working for you, you can call them up, send it back, and get all of your money back. That always makes the decision easier for me...

Also, if you're specifically looking to get really good at ONE style of guitar, this might not be the best way for you to do it. Steve does a nice job of mixing up the genres throughout the course, and the exercises cover many styles as well. It's a great way to lay a foundation, and find out if you might like a specific style you might never have thought of (I didn't realize how much I liked to play Blues guitar until I started learning the scales, for example).

If you want to master the basics of playing guitar, learn a bunch of chords, progressions and scales, how to read sheet music & tabs, and improve your soloing and songwriting skills, all from home, for less than the cost of 10 half-hour lessons, then I'd recommend checking out Learn and Master Guitar:

Check out Learn & Master Guitar!

About the Creator of Learn and Master Guitar, Steve Krenz:

Steve is a professional guitarist, living in Spring Hill, Tennessee. He plays with Grammy-winning artists, has recorded for large promotional campaigns & commercials, and regularly does studio recording with popular musicians and platinum-selling bands.

He has a degree in music, plays at Universities across the United States, and speaks and teaches at guitar workshops and churches around the World.

He's a down-to-Earth guy, and he does a fantastic job breaking things down and moving slow enough for his students to grasp the concepts.

He's passionate about learning guitar, and it shows.


How the course helped me...

I started playing guitar when I as 11 years old. I never took private guitar lessons, or bought any books to learn. I learned pretty much everything by gradually figuring out songs I liked to listen to.

As my abilities grew stronger, I kept running into problems like not understanding a key to solo within, missing notes in songs with a quicker tempo, and not being as creative as I'd hope to be when trying to write my own songs.

I eventually decided to invest in my guitar playing to fix these problems, because I knew I needed to fill in these gaps with some 'legit' formal training. Though I'm a big believer in action over theory, there is a reason the theory is typically taught first: it helps to lay a solid foundation so you can find your style, and build upon it.

When I got Learn and Master Guitar, it was $249 (though it's only $149 now). I was nervous about it at first, but when the high-quality binder came in the mail, I was impressed! I popped in the first DVD, and was happy right away, because it was so well-produced.

While some of the lessons in the beginning moved too slowly for me because of how long I had been playing, I just fast-forwarded through them (definitely an advantage over private lessons). That said, I found myself learning little things that I didn't expect, and couldn't believe that such basic skills were missing from all the years I had been playing!

Though I should practice more than I do, I seriously believe that this course has helped me become a better guitarist, and overall I would recommended it to anyone who's just starting to learn guitar, or for any intermediate guitarists like myself, who want to improve their skills.

I hope you enjoyed my Learn and Master Guitar review! Don't forget to come back and submit your own review once you've tried it out so we can continue helping our fellow guitarists choose the best lessons for them.

 

Learn & Master Guitar Review Summary

If you want to boost your skills as a guitarist (or simply start learning to play guitar), I'd recommend trying this course overall. It has what you need to lay a solid foundation, or fill in the gaps if you've been playing for a while like I had. Here's a quick wrap up:

  1. Learning to play guitar from home is convenient
  2. The 10 DVD's are easy to follow, and move at a nice pace for any level.
  3. The 107 pg lesson book covers theory & exercises from various styles.
  4. The 5 jam-along CD's make it easier to learn to play with a band, or even solo.
  5. Being able to watch the lessons again, until you understand them, makes this course better than paying $15-$20 per 30-minute lesson, in my opinion.

Ready to take action and improve your guitar playing? Get Learn & Master Guitar here:

Click to visit Learn and Master Guitar

 


Disclosure: The opinions in this review are my own, and are meant only to help you decide if "Learn & Master Guitar" is the best choice for you. As a guitar course critic, I received a complimentary review copy of this product, and I am compensated for any purchases made through this page to cover associated costs, and for the time and energy invested in my thorough evaluation of this DVD guitar course.


Textarea Bottom
 

#1 - JamPlay
#2 - Learn and Master Guitar
#3 - Guitar Tricks
#4 - Jamorama

Guitar Lessons Critic